Ferris State Men's Tennis Earns First Victory In Dual Action This Season

Ferris State Men's Tennis Earns First Victory In Dual Action This Season

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University men's tennis team picked up its first dual win of the season on Saturday (Feb. 15) as FSU rolled to a 7-2 non-league triumph over Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) at the FSU Racquet and Fitness Center.

The Bulldogs swept the doubles round while building a 3-0 lead heading into singles competition and then managed to take four of the six singles flights.

Ferris State received wins in singles action from Laurent Galarneau at the top flight along with victories at the third, fourth and fifth spots in the lineup from Laurent Mailloux, Otto Keresztes and Jose Calero, respectively.

All six singles sets were determined in straight-sets and the closest doubles score came at the number two flight where Mailloux and Keresztes picked up an 8-5 triumph. Galarneau was also a double-winner on the day.

With the win, the Bulldogs now own a 1-1 mark to date this spring in dual action.

FSU returns to competition on Friday (Feb. 21) as the Bulldogs open Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) play on the road against the Tiffin Dragons in Tiffin, Ohio. Match time is set for 3 p.m. (ET).

Ferris State will then visit Ohio Dominican on Saturday (Feb. 22) and Findlay on Sunday (Feb. 23) in league action.

Below are the complete match results:

Ferris State 7, Olivet Nazarene 2
Feb 15, 2014 at Big Rapids, Mich. (FSU Racquet & Fitness Center)

Singles competition
1. Laurent Galarneau (FS) def. Navarro Veys (ONU) 6-0, 6-2
2. Oscar Cornella (ONU) def. Aaron Dial (FS) 6-1, 6-2
3. Laurent Mailloux (FS) def. J Lopez-Isasi Morale (ONU) 6-0, 6-3
4. Otto Keresztes (FS) def. Caio Barros (ONU) 6-2, 6-1
5. Jose Calero (FS) def. Peter Jensen (ONU) 6-2, 6-1
6. Tyler Ellis (ONU) def. A Giacomazzi Serafim (FS) 7-6, 6-4
Doubles competition
1. Laurent Galarneau/Aaron Dial (FS) def. Navarro Veys/Oscar Cornella (ONU) 8-2
2. Laurent Mailloux/Otto Keresztes (FS) def. J Lopez-Isasi Morale/Caio Barros (ONU) 8-5
3. Justin Ecclestone/Will Huntington (FS) def. Peter Jensen/Tyler Ellis (ONU) 8-1