Ferris State Cruises Into The New Year By Beating Maryville Inside Wink Arena

FSU Basketball

Postgame Interview
Postgame Highlights 

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University women's basketball squad cruised into the New Year by beating visiting Maryville (Mo.) 91-67 on Saturday (Dec. 30) afternoon inside FSU's Jim Wink Arena.

The Bulldogs outscored the Saints by 16 points in the second stanza after opening up a six-point first quarter lead to improve to 7-5 on the year.

Three Bulldog starters finished in double-figures, with senior forward Rachel McInerney leading the way with 16 points and 10 rebounds for her second double-double in a row and sixth of the season. McInerney also finished with four assists and four blocks in 24 minutes.

Ferris State trailed early in the first, but used a 15-0 second quarter run to pull away, winning the second frame 29-13.

A total of 13 Bulldogs finished with two or more points in the contest. Senior guard Leah Humes had 14 points while junior guard Alexis Bush and sophomore guard Renee Sturm each added 10 points.

Ferris State shot 51.4 percent for the contest, while Maryville shot only 36.2 percent.

The Saints were led by the 21 points of Kayla Steward, who shot 3-of-5 from beyond the arc. As a whole, the Saints shot 50 percent from three for the afternoon.

Ferris State had 13 steals and scored 29 points off of Maryville turnovers while the Saints had just six points off of 12 Bulldog turnovers.

The Bulldogs showed their depth, outscoring the Saints 40-16 off of the bench. Ferris State dominated the points in the paint battle 54-14 as well.

Overall, Ferris State outrebounded Maryville 41-30 for the afternoon and FSU came away with 17 second chance points on 12 offensive caroms.

FSU also made all 16 of its free throw attempts in the game.

The win came in the final non-conference game of the year for Ferris State and the final outing of the 2017 calendar year. The Bulldogs will resume GLIAC play on Thursday, Jan. 4, against the Wayne State Warriors with tipoff set for 7:30 p.m. (ET) inside Wink Arena.